hello, hello?! Am I speaking to my child’s gay teacher?

The phone was ringing. It was late afternoon and Nicole happened to be closer to the phone than Ellen so Nicole answered the phone. After usual sentences the conversation went like the following.

Caller: Am I speaking to Miss [Ellen’s birth name]?

Nicole: No, sorry she isn’t around currently. Shall I take a message? (That was not true but Nicole just had a feeling that this may be a pointless call)

Caller: oh, are you her wife then and is it true that she or you are….. you know?

Nicole (who was a bit surprised by the brazen curiosity at the other end. After all the caller hadn’t properly identified herself): er…yes. And sorry who did you say you are?

Caller: oh, I’m Mrs [last name]. My son (…) who is in your wife’s class had repeatedly said that he had seen his teacher with a woman whom he thought to be a romantic partner of his teacher’s. as he was very insistent on the fact that his teacher’s romantic partner was a woman I just thought that I could ask about that, you know.

Nicole: ah, yes, sure. – Well I’m glad that I could be of assistance.

(Caller & Nicole say both good-bye).

Should have Ellen just returned the phone call to ensure that her pupil’s parents are straight?

About Kim Karlstein

Member of the gay conspiracy in one of the regional offices in the UK. The conspiracy you lately constantly heard about. Other than plotting how to take over world I have fairly normal hobbies. My gravatar is taken with thanks from wikimedia commons.
This entry was posted in bisexual, gay and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Everyone has an opinion. What's yours?

