The L-Word (UK Edition): L is for …. Loser? Lesbian?

A gay friend of mine was visiting me in northern England and while she was up here we went to one of the numerous gay bars. As it was during the (late) day time numerous, well the vast majority of patrons wore their everyday clothes instead of the typical party outfits. (Note to people thinking of visiting the UK: popping into a pub generally doesn’t require a lot of dressing up but visitors from some countries on the continent find clubbers in Britain generally … well, dressed up)

Among one of the customers was an attractive young woman wearing a hoodie with the capital letter “L” all across the front. I knew what that was standing for yet the association that this could be a code for “looser” always made me giggle and I was insisting on my right to be immature. My friend (not from northern England) didn’t know what the big “L” stood for and made her way over the woman in said hoodie who was currently on her own to initiate some small talk.

My friend: “I really like that hoodie of yours! Where did you get that from?!”

The woman in the hoodie appeared to be a bit confused I don’t know whether she just hadn’t expected to be approached, to be approached in this way or to be asked where the hoodie was from but she didn’t immediately respond to the question so my friend made another attempt.

“It’s really a sign of self-confidence and somewhat a sing of good humour to wear your sexual orientation around on a sweater like that. But somewhat really befitting for such a location.”

Woman in hoodie: “you know what? L is for Liverpool. The University of Liverpool. This is the uni hoodie.” Believe me she said the words “University of Liverpool” with quite some pride. “But at least you didn’t make a joke about L being for “losers” ”

That was the moment when I felt caught red-handed.

About Kim Karlstein

Member of the gay conspiracy in one of the regional offices in the UK. The conspiracy you lately constantly heard about. Other than plotting how to take over world I have fairly normal hobbies. My gravatar is taken with thanks from wikimedia commons.
This entry was posted in bisexual, gay and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Everyone has an opinion. What's yours?

