…and then suddenly there was a caravan parked in my way….

It was lively in the tiny gay bar despite the small number of people being there. A heterosexual friend of Ellen’s who is a hobby artist was using the space on the wall for an art exhibition. The paintings all showed either nude men or women and so Ellen’s artist friend could be fairly certain to create some interest in her work even if it wasn’t for the sake of art.

Lubor and I watched the last painting being hung onto the wall with Ellen’s friend waving her hands to influence the process when suddenly Andra came limping in holding digestive biscuits in one hand and what looked like a doctor’s prescription in the other. Her arms showing signs of scratching & bruising.

“Andra! what happened?”, asked both Lubor & I. The artist just looked slightly shocked. The two men hanging up the last paintings were to busy with their work to give Andra or the condition she was in any serious attention.

“I fell off my bike.” explained Andra.

“You fell off your bike? You just fell off your bike?” Lubor was frowning heavily. He had problems believing this explanation.

“Well, I was riding my bike and wasn’t paying very close attention to the road and then out of a sudden there was a caravan parked in my way.”

“There was a caravan parked there out of a sudden?”, Lubor started to grin.

“Yes, and then I had no chance to stop before I crashed into the caravan” Andra tried to defend herself from Lubor’s ridicule, “and because I had fallen so nastily I had to go to A&E and then I went to the shop to reward myself with biscuits because I’ve been so brave in A&E.”

“Oh, bless” said the artist “well done you. I never quite like seeing the doctor either.” she sounded genuinely empathetic.

“I wasn’t arguing with the amount of bravery required to go to A&E after a crash or the ration of biscuits required afterwards. I was more arguing with the fact that parked caravans don’t just suddenly appear out of nowhere.”

About Kim Karlstein

Member of the gay conspiracy in one of the regional offices in the UK. The conspiracy you lately constantly heard about. Other than plotting how to take over world I have fairly normal hobbies. My gravatar is taken with thanks from wikimedia commons.
This entry was posted in random, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Everyone has an opinion. What's yours?

