Terror on the Telephone

My (mobile/cellular) phone woke me up yesterday morning and I discovered that it was my mother calling and strangely concerned with my whereabouts. The whereabouts of an adult who hasn’t lived at home for several years now.

The conversation kicked off as following:

“ARE YOU IN ENGLAND???” my mum asked highly concerned.

“Yes?” Fear gripped me. Something terrible like a terrorist attack must have happened. I switched on my computer and rushed to the window to discover that the small street my window oversees was just rainy but quiet.

“We’ve got a problem” continued my mother. A terror attack in England and she feared that one of her friends visiting England may have fallen victim to it and she wants me to find out more?
My heart sank further.

“We’re here at the airport – and we can’t find our way to the hotel.”

“What?” now I was confused.

“We’re standing here at the airport and we can’t find our way to the hotel” mum repeated.

“ah, ok. What did the lady or the gentleman at the information desk tell you?” I wondered.

“Oh, we haven’t asked there.” she replied “I thought you could maybe help us.”

Yes, indeed I could. As I was already online it was rather quick to find directions on the internet and provide my parents with directions. Though can anyone help me understand why anyone would prefer phoning a person being miles away instead of asking at the information in the airport building?

I just hope that they will bring me something nice from their holiday or at least send me a post card.

About Kim Karlstein

Member of the gay conspiracy in one of the regional offices in the UK. The conspiracy you lately constantly heard about. Other than plotting how to take over world I have fairly normal hobbies. My gravatar is taken with thanks from wikimedia commons.
This entry was posted in random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Terror on the Telephone

  1. Ann Kilter says:

    Maybe they have to stand in line

    • you may have a point there actually.
      a queue of three people and my mother may have thought it’s quicker and easier to phone someone miles away, pay the extra charges for phoning another country and hope that the person, as if by magic either knows the direction out of the top of their head or sits next to the computer to find directions online.

  2. alexkellyoc says:

    I agree-it really could be seen as a terror on the telephone. I could explain partly why she called you first, instead of actually asking the lady/gentleman worker there: since she’s your mom, she’d rather check on you and use such opportunities to see how you’re doing.
    Still though-she should’ve asked the workers there first.

  3. Pingback: Good Morning, Andra! | Queer Impressions

Everyone has an opinion. What's yours?

